The write-in period for the 2023 Executive Council is open

The Executive Council (EC) approved the slate presented by the Nominations Committee for next year’s EC members. You may include any additional write-in names that are not included on the slate below, before the final ballot is presented to the membership for a vote.

To be included as a write-in candidate, the individual must be a member of LASA in good standing and must meet the conditions of the Constitution and By-laws and meet the required level of the LASA Service Path. Please include the curriculum vitae of each candidate and determine beforehand that they are willing to have their names included on the ballot.

Signatures of a minimum of 4% of the membership in good standing will be required for each write-in. The membership for the 2022 calendar year as of December 31 is 9,530, which means that 381 signatures are required for each candidate. Please assemble all signatures in a PDF file and send them with the information about your write-in candidate to

You have six weeks to respond to this request, or until midnight EST of March 8, 2023. The final ballot will then be assembled and presented to the membership for a vote. It will also indicate which candidates were on the approved slate and which are write-ins.

Slate approved by the Executive Council

Vice President / President-Elect

Javier Guerrero, Latin American Studies
Princeton University (USA)

Amy Lind, Gender, Sexualities and Women's Studies
University of Cincinnati (USA)


Mónica Espinosa Arango, Anthropology and Archaeology
Universidad de los Andes (Colombia)

David Smilde, Sociology
Tulane University  (USA)

Executive Council Members

Xóchitl Bada, Sociology
University of Illinois/Chicago (USA)

Jurgen Buchenau, History 
University of North Carolina/Charlotte (USA)

Emilio Crenzel, Sociology
Universidad de Buenos Aires/CONICET (Argentina)

April Mayes, History
Pomona College (USA)

Jocelyn Olcott, History 
Duke University (USA)

Julieta Suarez-Cao, Political Science 
Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile (Chile)